HookGet עברית Start free

HookGet vs Svix (2026)

The category leader, and the authors of the Standard Webhooks specification.

In short

  • Choose HookGet if: $449 buying twenty million deliveries beats $490 buying fifty thousand, you want per-endpoint retries, secrets, rate limits, mTLS and OAuth2 without an Enterprise contract, and you want a dead destination noticed in minutes rather than days.
  • Choose Svix if: You need a portal your customers administer themselves, JavaScript transformations, HIPAA or PCI-DSS, a published uptime SLA, or a Terraform provider.
  • Both sign with, or are compatible with, Standard Webhooks — so your consumers usually do not change.
  • The verdict: Svix if you need a portal your customers manage their own endpoints in, JavaScript transformations, or HIPAA and PCI-DSS today. HookGet if $490 a month is the wrong second step.

What a month costs, both ways

The first thing worth knowing, because it is the thing that moves. Every figure is from that vendor's own published pricing, read on 20 August 2026; ours is computed from our plans rather than typed here.

A month of…HookGetSvix
2 million deliveries$199 on Pro$685 Professional, $490 + 1.95M metered
10 million deliveries$399 on Pro$1,485 Professional, $490 + 9.95M metered
20 million deliveries$449 on Scale$2,485 Professional, $490 + 19.95M metered
50 million deliveries$809 on Scale$5,485 Professional, $490 + 49.95M metered
HookGet Scale · $449 20,000,000 deliveries
Svix Professional · $490 50,000 messages

Svix Professional includes the same 50,000 messages its free tier includes; their page lists $0.0001 per message past it. The bars are to scale except the smaller one, which is drawn at the narrowest width that is still visible — it is 0.25% of the other.

What the same money includes. Read off both vendors’ own published pricing.

At a glance

Every cell in the Svix column links to the page it was read from. The rows where we lose are in the table too — a comparison you cannot check is an advertisement.

CapabilityHookGetSvix
First paid step✅ $199 a month, including 2 million deliveries❌ $490 a month — and it includes the same 50,000 messages the free tier does source
Free tierℹ️ 10,000 deliveries a month, 2 endpoints, 3-day retention — and it blocks rather than bills, so trying HookGet cannot produce an invoice✅ 50,000 messages a month, up to 30-day retention. Their pricing page lists the same $0.0001-per-message rate against the free column as against Professional source
Past the allowance✅ $25 per additional million on Pro, $12 on Scale — and the pricing page publishes the volume where moving up starts saving money❌ $0.0001 per message — $100 per additional million, on the free tier and on Professional alike source
Consumer portal✅ Embeddable and white-label on every plan. Your customer can create their own endpoints (under a consumer grant), change the destination URL, reveal and rotate their signing key, and pause their own deliveries✅ On every tier, fully unbranded from Professional ($490) up source
Transformationsℹ️ Declarative, per endpoint, every plan — pick, omit, rename, set, unwrap, wrap. Never customer JavaScript, on purpose✅ JavaScript transformations, included from the free tier source
Filtering✅ Event type and payload attributes — region, tier, amount — per endpoint, every planℹ️ Event-type subscriptions; transformations cover reshaping source
Retry schedule✅ 8 attempts over ~21 hours, settable per endpoint on every planℹ️ 8 attempts over ~27 hours, fixed; custom schedules are Enterprise source
Dead destination noticed✅ 50 consecutive failures, or immediately on 410 Gone❌ After five days of failures source
Signature scheme✅ Standard Webhooks, HMAC and ed25519 (v1a), per endpoint, every planℹ️ Standard Webhooks — they wrote it. Custom signature schemes are Enterprise source
Secrets✅ One per endpoint, rotatable with an overlap window, every plan✅ Per endpoint, with rotation source
mTLS / OAuth2 to destinations✅ Every plan❌ Enterprise tier source
Object storage destinations✅ Any S3-compatible bucket, every planℹ️ S3, Azure and GCS from Professional ($490) source
Queue and bus destinations✅ SQS, SNS, Pub/Sub, Service Bus and EventBridge natively; Kafka via the Confluent REST proxy and RabbitMQ via the management API — every plan❌ Message brokers are Enterprise source
FIFO / ordered deliveryℹ️ Per endpoint, by sharding — deliveries to one destination keep their order. No cross-endpoint FIFOℹ️ FIFO endpoints, Enterprise tier source
Polling endpoints✅ On every plan — a consumer with no public URL pulls from a cursor insteadℹ️ Polling endpoints, Enterprise tier source
OpenTelemetry✅ Traces, metrics and logs: a span per delivery attempt, delivery counters and duration histograms, and a log stream of failures — OTLP over HTTP, every planℹ️ Not stated on their pricing page source
Local developmentℹ️ A signed listener CLI that forwards live events to localhost. Not a tunnel, on purpose✅ Svix Play, a hosted debugging endpoint source
Complianceℹ️ A published control list, SOC 2 committed on contract need✅ HIPAA, PCI-DSS, PIPEDA, GDPR, CCPA; SOC 2 Type II from Professional source
Uptime SLA❌ None published — measured uptime is public at api.hookget.com/status, a contractual figure is not✅ 99.9% free, 99.99% Professional, 99.999% Enterprise source
Data residencyℹ️ EU (Frankfurt) only, with no region premium✅ Isolated regions on every tier source
SSO❌ Not built — email OTP and passwords, with four roles and an audit logℹ️ Google Workspace on every tier; OIDC and SAML on Enterprise source
Terraform provider❌ Not built — a deliberate wait for a customer who needs it✅ On every tier source
Self-hostingℹ️ Runs, verified end to end — but the licence is unsettled, so it is on request, not a download✅ Open source under MIT, with images and binaries source
Verification libraries✅ Node, Python, PHP, Go — one file each, no dependencies, both schemes✅ The widest SDK set in the category source
Agent interface (MCP)✅ 57 tools over the same APIℹ️ Not stated on their pricing page source

How to read this page. Every claim about another product below was read off that company's own public pages on 20 August 2026, and each one links to the page it came from — check it yourself, that is what the links are for. Pricing and features move without anyone telling us, so our build fails if this page goes more than 120 days without a re-check. Everything stated about HookGet is something you can verify in the product today, including the rows where we lose. If we have something wrong, tell us and it is fixed the same day.

Where Svix is stronger

  • An embeddable consumer portal on every tier, fully unbranded from Professional up — and their portal lets a consumer manage their own endpoint, not only watch it. source
  • Transformations and connectors are included from the free tier, so payloads can be reshaped per destination in JavaScript. source
  • Stated compliance with HIPAA, PCI-DSS, PIPEDA, GDPR and CCPA on every tier, and SOC 2 Type II from Professional. source
  • A published uptime SLA on every tier: 99.9% free, 99.99% on Professional, 99.999% on Enterprise. source
  • Isolated regions for data-residency requirements, on every tier. source
  • A Terraform provider on every tier — infrastructure-as-code for endpoints and event types. source
  • Their server is open source under the MIT licence, with Docker images and pre-built binaries. source
  • They wrote the signature specification the rest of the category, including us, now implements. source

Trade-offs to weigh

  • The free tier covers 50,000 messages a month; the next tier starts at $490 a month. If your volume outgrows free before your budget reaches $490, that step is the thing to plan around. source
  • Overage past an allowance is $0.0001 per message — $100 per additional million. source
  • The retry schedule is fixed — eight attempts spread over about 27 hours — and a custom schedule is an Enterprise-tier item. source
  • A dead destination is disabled only after five days of failures (with at least 12 hours between the first and last inside a 24-hour span). source
  • mTLS, OAuth 2.0 to destinations, custom signature schemes, audit logs and OIDC/SAML SSO are all Enterprise-tier. source
  • FIFO endpoints, polling endpoints, message brokers and database destinations are Enterprise-tier; object storage starts at Professional. source

Where the approach differs — on purpose

Same jobs, different techniques. Each of these is a decision we will defend, with the alternative named for the cases where you should take it — including when that alternative is Svix.

AreaThe HookGet way
TransformationsDeclarative, never customer code. Six auditable ops cover the real cases with nothing to escape from — a worker that runs customer JS has every other customer in its blast radius. Need arbitrary logic? Your publisher is the right place for it
FilteringA fixed vocabulary of comparisons over dot-paths, not an expression language: it cannot loop, cannot allocate, and is bounded by the size of the filter rather than by anything in the payload. A missing path matches nothing, so a typo stops deliveries visibly instead of quietly delivering the firehose
Local developmentA signed listener instead of a tunnel. Your handler verifies real signatures locally and nothing opens your machine to the internet — the reason security reviews wave it through. Prefer push? Any tunnel you already trust works in front of a test endpoint
ComplianceControls you can check today over a badge that attests last year: the compliance page lists every control in production, and SOC 2 is committed the moment a contract needs it
OverageMetering, never blocking, at $25 per additional million on Pro and $12 on Scale — and the free tier blocks rather than bills, so trying it can never cost money
Self-hostingThe same engine, one compose file — built and verified end to end on ARM64: migrations, a signed delivery and real SMTP. Available on request today; the public licence is the one thing still to settle

When to choose Svix

You need a portal your customers administer themselves, JavaScript transformations, HIPAA or PCI-DSS, a published uptime SLA, or a Terraform provider. If any of those is load-bearing for you, Svix is the better product and we would rather you knew it now than three weeks into a migration.

When to choose HookGet

$449 buying twenty million deliveries beats $490 buying fifty thousand, you want per-endpoint retries, secrets, rate limits, mTLS and OAuth2 without an Enterprise contract, and you want a dead destination noticed in minutes rather than days. You also get per-endpoint payload filters, dead letters with replay, gap repair, an embeddable white-label portal and both signature schemes — on every plan, including the free one.

Moving between them

Consumers that verify Standard Webhooks signatures do not change. What needs planning is the destination list, the secrets and any capability above that we do not have. The migration guide covers the patterns, including running both in parallel before you commit.

Questions

Is HookGet a drop-in replacement for Svix?

For delivery and signatures, largely yes — both sign with or are compatible with Standard Webhooks, so consumers usually need no change. Anything in the table above marked ❌ on our side is not a drop-in, and the honest answer is to read those rows before you plan a move.

When should I stay with Svix?

You need a portal your customers administer themselves, JavaScript transformations, HIPAA or PCI-DSS, a published uptime SLA, or a Terraform provider.

Is HookGet cheaper than Svix?

Substantially, and the reason is structural rather than a discount. Svix Professional is $490 a month and includes 50,000 messages — the same allowance as their free tier — then lists $100 per million past it. Our $449 plan includes twenty million. At 10 million deliveries a month that is $399 against $1,485; at 20 million it is $449 against $2,485.

How do the retry policies differ?

HookGet defaults to eight attempts over about 21 hours and lets you set the schedule per endpoint, which matters when one destination needs a tighter or looser rhythm than the rest. Svix's schedule is also eight attempts, spread over about 27 hours, and it is fixed unless you are on their Enterprise tier — their retry documentation is the current source.

What does HookGet not have that I should know about before switching?

No published uptime SLA, no SOC 2 report (a published control list instead), no SSO with SAML, no Terraform provider, no cross-endpoint FIFO ordering, and no JavaScript transformations — that last one a deliberate position rather than a gap. Public self-hosting runs and is verified but has no licence yet, so it is available on request rather than as a download.

Start delivering webhooks today

Recreate one destination, publish one event, and compare the two timelines side by side. That is an afternoon, and it settles the question better than this page can.

Create a free account See pricing

10,000 deliveries a month free, no credit card. The free tier blocks rather than bills, so trying the product cannot produce an invoice — which is not true of every free tier in this category.

Verified 20 August 2026 against: Svix's site. Re-checked at least every 120 days.